Day 3: And She Slept.

Day 3:
Last night I got my first decent nights’ sleep in 72 hours, and I only slept for about 4 hours and I’m okay with that. I spent 11 hours flying, atleast 6 hours in waiting and overlays, when we left it was 12:30 pm and when we landed in Germany (which is 7 hours ahead of Arkansas) it was 8:35 am.. of course it was suggested that we sleep on the plane and stay up when we made it that morning. so that’s what I did.
The plane ride was.. fattening. yes, fattening. They served us dinner and breakfast, as well as various complimentary adult beverages. All of which I indulged in. I slept for 3 hours and stayed up for 5. I watched a few episodes of Black•ish Season 2 (a show I’ve been avoiding for a while but turns out it HILARIOUS, and very relevant), I also saw Creed (a movie I have been meaning to see for the longest time, and it was phenomenal, I cried at the end.. I’m not sure if it was solely because of the content or a slight expression of my sentiments toward the long flight mixed in.), then I watched Straight Outta Compton for the 3rd time, I am obsessed with that film.
When the plane finally landed I walked onto German soil feeling like a limited time bread. my feet and ankles were swollen and I was walking around looking like a chocolate poster child for Pillsbury DoughBoy from the knee down. You’ll be happy to know that my ankles and feet ate back to Kristen size.

The first day here (day 2 of traveling) was a day to get ourselves accustomed to our surroundings and adjust to the jet lag. NEVER underestimate the toll that jet lag can have on a group of going adults, no matter how close you think they are there are bound to be issues. But the great thing is that people with the mind to come on trips like these, also have the heart to go out of their way to make things right. It is a beautiful thing to witness.

I had a few ‘real talks’ last night, i ma actually headed to have one now. I cried tears and laugh. sometimes it takes taking a trip to bond with people in a way you never thought you would, or deepen connections you already had.

Today was a long one, I woke up around 6 am, which was great because it was the perfect time to talk to family and loved ones back home. We left the hotel and didn’t make it back until 7pm. The amount of walking was a lot and I fond myself making the mistake of complaining, and then i juicily caught myself.. how often do you have the chance to get caught in the rain in Antwerp? or sing at Our Lady Cathedral? go 31 meters underground only to find yourself at ground level a few short moments later? You don’t get that chance.

I miss my people like crazy, and by my people I mean the people that I love and care about. But I am making it through, this is an experience and I am learning so much day by day.

~Kristen Phantazia

“Travel while you’re young and able. Don’t worry about the money, just make it work. Experience is far more valuable than money will ever be…”

Leave a Reply

